27 Exposures: Uno

My first single-use camera was named after Joseph Sugg, an up-and-coming YouTuber who had inspired me, ere my third visit to Taiwan, to procure the démodé device and experiment with old-fashioned photography. In two of his vlogs, he revealed a handful of remarkable images—contrived and candid alike—of effulgent subjects, lively soirées, and joie de vivre.

While my pictures turned out to be lacking in comparison, they represent fragments of my adventures in Taipei. From the tapster at a gay bar, who was au fait with and talked nineteen to the dozen about the approaching typhoon, to the mom-and-pop shopkeeper, who was arranging sopping wet cardboard boxes along a pavement whilst partaking in a natter with my convivial father, every local warned and urged us to remain indoors that night.

“It will be one of the most disastrous ones in decades!” squeaked one.




Back in my parents’ hotel room, we ensconced ourselves in beds, fixated our attention on the television, tucked into tea eggs and vermicelli and noodles, and watched as the newscaster broadcasted the situations in other parts of Taiwan. My mother, true to form, gasped and tsk-tsked ever and anon.

As the heavens opened and blustery winds permeated the city and country over the next few days, my family and I were determined to make the most of our getaway; we inched towards Taipei 101 with non-compliant skirts, dawdled along Tamsui Fisherman’s Wharf with intricately knotted hair, and explored market after market with weather-beaten umbrellas.





Nonetheless one of my fondest memories of the trip transpired in a bookstore; “I am from Toronto,” introduced he, from out of nowhere, with a grin like a Cheshire cat, and we began to jaw-jaw about our respective travels. The jet-setter narrated his North American endeavours while I fervently recounted my European days and, for a split second, with my family scattered all over the place, it felt like I was travelling solo once more. It made me a fairly happy camper that evening.

This week's photo challenge is Spare.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. restlessjo says:

    I love it when you get talking to an enthusiast along the way 🙂 🙂 Thanks for dropping in at mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

